United States of America, Quarter Dollar 2006

The state quarter of South Dakota depicts a pheasant, wheat, and Mount Rushmore. This monument in the Black Hills features the heads of four momentous American presidents. The resident Lakota Indians consider the Black Hills as sacred territory and the presidential as sacrilege. Notwithstanding South Dakota's nickname is 'The Mount Rushmore State'. The pheasant, South Dakota's state bird, and the wheat stand fir the fertility of the land. The date 1889 is the year in which South Dakota joined the Untied States of America.