Central African Monetary Union, 10 CFA Francs 1983

Chad is a member of the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa and uses the unions single currency, Central African CFA franc. It is the currency of six independent states spanning some 740,000,000 acres (3,000,000 square kilometers) in Central Africa; besides Chad these are Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.