Republic of South Africa, 2 Cents 1980

In 1910 the two former Boer republics Transvaal and Orange Free State were united with the British dominated Cape Province and Natal to form the Union of South Africa. As self-governed British dominion, the new union remained under the crown of the British Empire. Accordingly Great Britain still delivered the coins South Africa needed. They bore the bust of the English king on their obverse, together with the title REX IMPERATOR. The reverse showed the name SOUTH AFRICA – ZUID AFRIKA.