Republic of Mauritania, 5 Ouguiya 1394 AH

The ouguiya is the currency of Mauritania. It was introduced in 1973. Before that time, Mauritania was a member of the West African Monetary Union. 1 ouguiya is divided into 5 khoums. This makes the Mauritanian currency, along with that of Madagascar, the only currency worldwide not based on the decimal system. Due to their low value, coins of 5 ouguiya are rare today.