United States of America, Quarter Dollar 2008

A grizzly bear with a salmon and the North Star, these are the symbol that Alaska chose for its state quarter. The inscription reads 'The great Land'. Alaska calls itself also the 'most extensive', the 'northernmost', the 'westernmost', the 'highest', the 'second newest', and the 'least densely populated' of the American states. Alaska is indeed the most extensive federal state. It occupies the westernmost extent of the Americas, and is detached from the other states. The summit of Denali (formerly Mount McKinley) is with more than 6,000 meters the highest point of North America. Alaska became a member of the Union in 1959, followed a view months lather by Hawaii. The 50 state quarters, one for every state of the United States of America, were issued between 1999 and 2008 as commemoration and collector coins.