Federal Republic of Germany, 2 Euro 2002

The German euro coins are minted in five different cities. The mintmark A stands for Berlin, D for Munich, F for Stuttgart, G for Karlsruhe, and J for Hamburg. The 1, 2 and 5 cent-coins show an oak spray, a memento of the old pfennig. The Brandenburg Gate on the 10, 20 and 50 cent-coins stands for the German separation (1949) and reunification (1990). The 1 and 2 euro-coins, finally, bear an eagle, the traditional German emblem.