Kingdom of Denmark, Frederick VIII, 20 Kroner 1912

From 1873, Denmark, Norway and Sweden were members of the Scandinavian Monetary Union. The three countries issued gold and silver coins of the same weight and alloy that were – just like the euro today – accepted as legal tender in the entire union territory. From gold, coins of 10 crowns and 20 crowns were struck; they were made of 90 percent pure gold. The Scandinavian Monetary Union stopped working during World War One and was officially dissolved in 1924.