Canton of Berne, 5 Concordate Batzen 1826

In 1819 nineteen cantons – all except St. Gallen, Grisons and Geneva – agreed on a common monetary standard. The old small coins were to be demonetized. The large coins as well as the billon coins of 5, 1 and 1/2 batzen were to remain in circulation.

However, like so often in Swiss monetary history, this agreement too proved to be nothing but smoke and mirrors. Nobody complied with it. Only the number of coins rose: around 1820 there were supposedly still some 8000 different varieties in circulation.