German Empire, William II, German East African Company, 1 Pesa 1890

The colony German East Africa – the modern countries Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi – had no standardized currency at the end of the 19th century. Their key coin was the Indian rupee. Besides, German, British and French money circulated as well. In 1890, the German East Africa Company began to issue coins for the German "protectorate." At first, copper pesas were minted; 64 pesas equaled 1 rupee.